News


19.08.2019

Patent law: groundbreaking decision of the Swiss Federal Supreme Court of 6 August 2019 - 4A_70/2019 ('flow sensor')
In this landmark decision, the Swiss Federal Supreme Court revalues a long-standing process for Swiss patent proceedings in front of the Federal Patent Court, thereby strengthening the principle of procedural equality of arms.

In its decision of 6 August 2019, the first civil law division of the Federal Patent Court, composed of a panel of five judges, decided in proceedings involving IPrime Legal that parties to patent proceedings, too, are limited to two non-restricted briefs, and that they are thereafter bound to the procedural restictions in accordance with established case law on art. 229 CPC. Likewise, amendments of patent claims are as a matter of law subject to the requirements to present new matter (nova).

The Swiss Federal Supreme Court overturned the lower instance decision of the Federal Patent Court, which had assumed that the claimant and patent owner was entitled to unrestrictedly voice its position on the validity of the patent both within the first, limited reply as well as within the second, complementary reply. The decision now rendered states that the claimant already had a chance to express its position on the merits without limitation for the first time when filing the statement of claim.

Together with the two additional opportunities to provide its comments on the occasion of the two partial replies, the claimant as a result submitted three unlimited statements on the validity of the patent, which is not in line with the case law of the Federal Supreme Court. Contrary to the lower instance court's position, the Federal Supreme Court held that the particularities of patent disputes cannot justify such a course of proceedings. It is in the nature of civil proceedings that, at the time of the filing of the statement of claim i.e. at the time of the claimant's first opportunity to unrestrictedly present new evidence and state ist position the claimant does not know with certainty what the defendant will bring forward in its defense. According to the Federal Supreme Court, a differentiation according to the predictability of the defense arguments and objections of the defendant would considerably jeopardise the legal certainty. In light of this background, a deviation to the general rule of two unrestricted opportunities to state its position for the area of patent law is not justifiable.

In this context, the Federal Supreme Court examines whether the thematic division of the reply, as it has been practiced up until the present day in ordinary proceedings before the Federal Patent Court, was in fact admissible. It then also calls into question the appropriateness of such approach, since the patent nullity can in any event not be clearly distinguished from the rest of the procedural questions.

According to the Federal Supreme Court, the so-called "verbal limitation" of the main claim of the claimant's patent after the closing of the file also constitutes an improper novum, which must comply with the requirements of admissibility as per art. 229 para.1 let. b CPC. The court emphasises in particular that it is indispensable for the prove that these requirements have been fulfilled by the claimant that rejoinder nova have a causal connection to the verbal limitation.

With a view to the fundamental importance of the ability to present new evidence in civil proceedings, the Federal Supreme Court highlights that it is unavoidable to have clear and unambiguous general rules, allowing parties to determine without any doubt until when they are free to submit their unrestricted comments on the merits. Consequently, the closing of the file cannot be left at the court's discretion (decision of the Federal Supreme Court 144 III 67 consid. 2.1 with further references). According to the Federal Supreme Court, the instruction hearing cannot represent a second opportunity for the parties to unrestrictedly bring new facts or evidence, resulting in the postponement of the closing of the file. Whether or not the thematic division of the reply is admissible seems at least questionable. Such a thematic division must in any event not lead to the claimant being allowed to unrestrictedly comment on its position twice. Therefore, the reformulation of patent claims in civil Proceedings are to be considered anologously to nova.

The successful appellant was in front of the Federal Supreme Court represented by IPrime Legal's attorneys-at-law Dr. Rudolf A. Rentsch and Ernst J. Brem. 

Link to the published judgement

News


19.08.2019

Patentrecht: Wegweisendes Urteil des Schweizer Bundesgerichts vom 6. August 2019 - 4A_70/2019 ('Durchflussmessfühler')
In einem Grundsatzentscheid stellt das Schweizerische Bundesgericht einen jahrelang gepflegten Ablauf schweizerischer Patentprozesse vor dem Bundespatentgericht zur Disposition und stärkt dabei den Grundsatz der prozessualen Waffengleichheit.

Die I. zivilrechtliche Abteilung des Bundesgerichtes hat in Fünferbesetzung mit Urteil vom 6. August 2019 in einem von IPrime Legal vertreten Verfahren entschieden, dass sich die Parteien auch im Patentprozess nur zweimal unbeschränkt äussern können und danach gemäss gefestigter Rechtsprechung zu Art. 229 Abs. 1 ZPO strickt ans Novenrecht gebunden sind. Änderungen von Patentansprüchen unterliegen ebenfalls zwingend den novenrechtlichen Voraussetzungen.

Das Bundesgericht hob entsprechend das vorinstanzliche Urteil des Bundespatentgerichts auf, welches noch davon ausging, dass sich die Klägerin und Patentinhaberin sowohl in einer ersten beschränkten Replik als auch in der zweiten ergänzenden Replik unbeschränkt zur Rechtsbeständigkeit des Patentes äussern dürfe. Im Urteil wird festgehalten, dass sich die Klägerin in der Klage bereits ein erstes Mal im Rahmen der Klage ohne Beschränkung zur Sache äussern konnte.

Mit den beiden weiteren Äusserungsmöglichkeiten in den beiden Replikteilen hätte die Klägerin im Ergebnis dreimal unbeschränkt zur Rechtsbeständigkeit vorgetragen, was sich mit der bundesgerichtlichen Rechtsprechung nicht in Einklang bringen liesse. Entgegen der Ansicht der Vorinstanz liesse sich ein solcher Verfahrensablauf nicht durch Besonderheiten von Patentrechtsstreitigkeiten rechtfertigen. Es entspreche dem Wesen des Zivilprozesses, dass die Klagepartei zum Zeitpunkt der Klage – novenrechtlich zum Zeitpunkt ihrer ersten unbeschränkten Äusserungsmöglichkeit – die Entgegnungen der beklagten Partei noch nicht mit Sicherheit kennt. Eine Unterscheidung je nach Vorhersehbarkeit der Einreden bzw. Einwendungen der Gegenpartei würde die Rechtssicherheit erheblich gefährden, weshalb sich eine Ausnahme von der allgemeinen Regel der zweimaligen unbeschränkten Äusserungsmöglichkeit im Bereich des Patentrechts nicht rechtfertige – so das Bundesgericht.

In diesem Zusammenhang stellt das Bundesgericht die Zulässigkeit der thematischen Aufteilung der Replik, wie sie bis anhin im ordentlichen Verfahren vor Bundespatentgericht vorgenommen wird, in Frage. Es zieht sodann auch deren Sinnhaftigkeit in Zweifel, da sich die Frage der Patentnichtigkeit nicht ohne weiteres klar vom übrigen Prozessstoff abgrenzen liesse.

Auch eine so genannte "verbale Einschränkung" des Hauptanspruchs des Klagepatentes durch die Klägerin nach Aktenschluss ist gemäss Bundesgericht ein unechtes Novum, das die Eingabevoraussetzungen gemäss Art. 229 Abs. 1 lit. b ZPO zu erfüllen hat. Das Gericht hebt dabei besonders hervor, dass es für den Nachweis dieser Voraussetzungen durch die Klägerin unabdingbar sei, dass Dupliknoven  für die verbale Einschränkung kausal sind.

Das Bundesgericht betont: "Angesichts der grundsätzlichen Bedeutung des Novenrechts im Zivilprozess ist es unausweichlich, dass klare und eindeutige allgemeine Regeln bestehen, die es den Parteien ermöglichen, mit Sicherheit zu bestimmen, bis wann sie sich zur Sache unbeschränkt äussern dürfen. Es kann folglich nicht sein, dass der Aktenschluss ins Ermessen des Gerichts gestellt wird (BGE 144 III 67 E. 2.1 mit Verweisen)". Die Instruktionsverhandlung könne "nicht als zweite Gelegenheit der Parteien zu unbeschränktem Vorbringen neuer Tatsachen und Beweismittel dienen", mit der Folge dass der Aktenschluss anschliessend noch nicht eintreten würde. "Ob eine thematische Aufteilung der Replik zulässig ist, erscheint fraglich". Eine derartige thematische Aufteilung dürfe jedenfalls nicht dazu führen, dass die Klagepartei sich mehr ais zweimal unbeschränkt äussern dürfe. "Deshalb ist die Neuformulierung von Patentansprüchen im Zivilprozess dem Vorbringen von Noven gleich zu achten".

Die erfolgreich beschwerdeführende Partei war vor Bundesgericht seitens IPrime Legal vertreten durch die Rechtsanwälte Dr. Rudolf A. Rentsch und Ernst J. Brem.

Link zum publizierten Urteil